Have the Courage to Just Be…Be Still

I’m pretty certain that we’ve had those times when we simply didn’t know how to fix a problem, conflict, a screw up.  The human struggle.  Yet, it is a bigger struggle to those that we know as “fixers.”  These are the folks that we look up to; they always seem to have an answer to the problem.  It doesn’t matter if their solution is right or wrong…they have an answer.  The problem with a fixer is that sometimes they may end up playing the role of the savior, the Jesus.  In all honesty, we were meant to care, but we were not meant to take on all the pains of the world.  This sounds drastic, but if you know a fixer…if you are a fixer…then you will know exactly what I am speaking of.

It is as if somehow you were assigned the task to make things alright.  You just want everybody to get along, to be civil, to be happy.  But what happens when those that you seem to be helping start clashing with each other?  Your world is turned upside down, you don’t know how to start fixing stuff because it’s just NOT SUPPOSED TO BE THIS WAY!!!!!!

Have the courage to just be.  Breathe, and be.  This may become truly stressful for you.  Fixers are supposed to be fully employed at all times.  You are not supposed to rest, what?  Rest?  Nah.  NO.

Then again:  YES.  You are not here to fix all issues.  You are not a savior, you can’t fix everything, and I have a little secret.  Come closer….you will never fix the majority of things.  Sssshhh.  Just be.  Have the courage to be.

Be still, buddy.  You’ll get through this.  For what its worth, I am a Christian and find comfort in many things (not a lot of them, but some).  Biblical verses help me get through a lot of things.  I’m not sure what help others, but this works for me.  I find it comforting to read about stillness.  I have so much noise in my mind, heaviness in my heart.  It gets loud inside.  It is comforting when a Biblical verse is encouraging.  Yet surprisingly, I find strength not in the precise words but in their ability to Sssshhhh my internal loudness.

Exodus 14:4 “The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.”

Leave a Reply

