Your best day + shittiest day = eternity

Ever feel like you are having a fantastic day, yet you sense that something is about to happen.  It is not a bad feeling, not a good feeling either…just a feeling.  A “thing.”  It gets to the point that you become afraid of enjoying the good moment.  Not so much in a paranoid way, but in a watchful way.  It’s like expecting an email that isn’t coming, then suddenly realizing that maybe the message ended up in your bulk mail.

I have news for you:  this doesn’t make you paranoid.  I bring this up because it is the one answer that you are most likely to get if you share this experience with someone else.  This is especially true of you are a Christian (not sure about other religions).  Usually, these struggles will come out during a Bible study.  Once the “prayer requests” portion of the study begin, people start to open up with their current struggles.  The Christian in me directs me to listen to the whole prayer request—so that I can pray.  The PhD researcher in me directs me to listen to how the person ends the prayer request.  If the individual is going through one of those situations that seem unending, the individual will close out their prayer request with:  “trying to see God’s will.”  It is as if the concept of “worry” was sinful in itself.  Nevertheless, this thought process does not recognize the Christian principle that explains how emotions were given to us by God Himself.  Yes, self-control is a very important factor in regulating oneself.  Let’s not all be messy and go out there parading every single one of our emotions!  (Little nerdy giggles and snickers).

The bottom line is that worry does not make you sinful, evil, negative, or wrong.  It makes you authentic and real.  There is nothing that can make your body feel more alive than a true struggle.  Am I right?  The peaceful times that you’ve had in your life are truly unrecognizable, unless they were experienced after a great challenge or struggle.  However, if you look at the times that you had a large struggle….you remember exactly what it was.  You may even remember all of the emotions that you experienced in the process of remembering that particular experience.  This is because we were meant to experience these types of emotions.

On the flip side of this, there are struggles that should take place to perfect us.  I would like to give you the ‘churchy’ part about this message:  take your troubles to God.  I know that it sounds trivial, and I know for a fact that I am not in your shoes.  But, what do you have to lose.  The world is owned by the ones that try, not by the ones that succeeded.

Your best day can be your shittiest.  But your shittiest day, can bring eternal living.   I know that I use some language here:  I’m giving you the real me.  I’m not cleaning this up; I’m not filtering this information.  I think that we would all be better if we dared to be authentic.

Perspective.  Perspective.  Perspective.

 

Leave a Reply

