What is joy?

What is joy?  I have asked myself this question many times.  The inquiry comes accompanied by an array of other questions, such as:

  • What does joy feel like?
  • What is the difference between joy and happiness?
  • Can you pinpoint the exact moment when joy begins and ends?
  • Who is prone to fill joy?  Who is prone to not feel joy?
  • Is it a feeling or a mood?
  • Is joy contagious?  Or is it an independent feeling/mood?
  • Are you responsible for finding it?
  • What are the things that will most likely kill joy?
  • Can I scientifically prove the existence of joy?  Can I test it in a laboratory setting?
  • Is there a single definition?
  • Will two people define joy the same way?
  • Is joy a coveted feeling?  Do people care about joy?
  • What does the Bible say about joy?  How does the Bible define joy?
  • What does the world (non-Biblical) say about joy?
  • Do people really care to have it?
  • What happens when joy is modeled?
  • What does joy look like?
  • Can a person cause another person to have joy?
  • Is there a Biblical joy versus a worldly joy?
  • Is joy an exclusively Biblical term?
  • What is the opposite of joy?
  • What happens to a person that has no joy, yet has happiness.

I am interested in joy, because I do not understand it.  I don’t know if I have ever felt it, or if I have confused it with happiness.  I don’t know if joy and happiness are the same thing.  I don’t know if joy is the result of something else, or if it is a derivative of happiness (or vice versa).  I am torn between disproving its physical existence and proving its existence.

Leave a Reply

